Deadline 15 January: Austrian Film Institute Prize

The Austrian Film Institute in Vienna announces the launch of an essay prize for unpublished work on a contemporary (active post 1980) Austrian filmmaker or film(s).


The prize of 500 Euros will be awarded to the writer of the best essay, not exceeding 10,000 words (including notes) on a topic chosen by the competitor within the realm of contemporary Austrian filmmaking.


The text should be in English, entries from postgraduate and early-career scholars are particularly encouraged.


The winner will be invited to University of Cambridge in September 2018 to deliver a shortened version to the “Picturing Austrian Cinema Symposium” with Michael Haneke.


All entries will also be considered for publication in Negativ: the International Journal of Austrian Film (IJAF), a new annual online academic publication.


Essays must be submitted to Dr Frederick Baker, by email to, by the new deadline of 15 January 2018.


The jury, consisting of academic as well as other experts on Austrian film, reserves the right not to make an award in any year when it judges that there is no candidate of sufficient merit.


Prize Jury (in alphabetical order)


Dr Frederick Baker, Founder of Picturing Austrian Cinema Symposium, University of Cambridge


Professor Allyson Fiddler, Professor of German, Lancaster University


Professor Imke Meyer, Professor of German, University of Illinois at Chicago


Dr Katharina Müller, Lecturer in Film, University of the Arts, Vienna


Dr John David Rhodes, Director of the Centre for Film and Screen, University of Cambridge


Dr Annie Ring, Lecturer in German, University College London


Roland Teichmann LLM, Director of the Austrian Film Institute, Vienna (Chair)


Professor Andrew Webber, Professor of Modern German and Comparative Culture, University of Cambridge

Deadline 15 January: Austrian Film Institute Prize
Scroll to top